About The College of Science & Technology

The College of Science & Technology was started in the year 1931 as the combined Colleges of Arts, Science and Technology, and it was bifurcated in the year 1966 with Prof. R.Ramanadham as its first principal.  The college has a total strength of nearly 2000 students, 100 research scholars, 232 teaches and 276 administrative and supporting staff.  It is the biggest constituent college of the University with a teacher to student ratio of nearly 1:12.  The college has 18 departments and two units organizing 50 courses covering the disciplines of Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Life Sciences, Earth Sciences, Abstract Sciences etc.  Five departments of the college viz., The departments of Physics, Geology, Chemistry, Botany and Zoology have special assistance programmes supported by the  UGC. There are also research and training centers located in the college.  These centers are Centre for Marine Archaeology.  Centre for Nuclear Techniques,  Delta  Studies Institute, the University Science Instrumentation Centre and Ocean Science and Technology Cell.  Other centers within some departments such as  the Centre for Piezoelectric studies in Physics department and Centre for Water Resource Management.  Another independent center, namely, Mahadevan International Centre for Water Resource and Management named after the famous Geologist   Prof. C.Mahadevan, former principal and Head of the Department of Geology, Andhra University, is under  establishment.        

      Several faculty members of the College of Science and Technology have made significant academic contributions both at the National and International levels. Professor C.V.Raman was Honorary Professor of Physics department.  Professor B.Ramachandra Rao served as Vice Chairman of the UGC and also as member of Rajya Saba.  Professor S.V.J.Lakshman served as the Vice-Chancellor of  Sri. Venkateswara University and Nagarjuna University of Andhra Pradesh.  Prof. M.I.Ahmed of Physics dept. is working as Vice-Chancellor of Sri Krishnadevaraya  University, Anathapur.  Prof.R.Madhavi of Zoology department is working as Vice-Chancellor of   Sri Padmavathi Mahila University, Tirupati.  A few teachers of this Institution have been honoured with higher positions in Government/semi-government organizations. Our alumni occupy prominent positions in several fields of activity  both in the country as well as abroad.

The College of Science and Technology is made up of schools as follows:

School of Physics:

  • Physics 
  • Nuclear Physics

School of Chemistry:

  • Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry
  • Organic Chemistry and Foods, Drugs and Water
  • Physical and Nuclear Chemistry and Chemical Oceanography

School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences:

  • Geology
  • Geography
  • Geophysics
  • Meteorology & Oceanography

School of Mathematical Sciences:

  • Mathematics
  • Applied Mathematics and
  • Statistics.

School of Life Sciences:

  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Marine Living Resources
  • Biochemistry
  • Human Genetics
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Microbiology
  • Biotechnology

Research  & Development Centers & Interdisciplinary Centers

  • Delta Studies Institute
  • Chemistry of Natural Products
  • Population Research Centre
  • Centre for Nuclear Techniques
  • Centre for Marine Archaeology
  • Ocean Science and Technology Cell
  • Hydrology and Water Management with Rural Bias

Some departments of AUCST  have gained recognition by several agencies as:

  • DST (FIST)
  • DOD (Ocean Science and Technology Cell)
  • ONGC (Delta Studies Institute)

May the Divine Light Illuminate Our Studies
©2015 Andhra University. All Rights Reserved. Send your comments to [email protected]